U.S. Consumer-Financial-Services Law Writing Competition – How To Apply

September 1, 20230

It is time again for the U.S. Consumer-Financial-Services Law Writing Competition. 

Each year, The American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers, the organizers of the Consumer-Financial-Services Law Writing Competition, seeks to recognize written contributions to the field of U.S. consumer financial services law. 

Read: 9 Ways To Make A Judge Rule In Your Favor


The following are the papers and works eligible papers for the U.S. Consumer-Financial-Services Law Writing Competition:

  • Publishable articles, 
  • Substantial book reviews,  
  • Book chapters 
  • Books and 
  • Student case notes or comments. 

Note: Official publications of or by government agencies are not eligible. 


Every year, depending on the quality of the submissions, awards may be made in all, some, or none of these three categories.

The awards include: 

  • A cash payment ($5,000 for books, $3,500 for articles, reviews, or book chapters, and 
  • $1,500 for student work), 
  • A certificate or other token of recognition. 
  • Travel expenses (If applicable) to attend the College’s annual dinner (if held, typically in conjunction with the Spring Meeting of the Business Law Section of the American Bar Association).

Application Guidelines for the Consumer-Financial-Services Law Writing Competition

Eligible entries must discuss some aspect of U.S. consumer financial services law. 

Note: Topics that relate principally to securities regulation, bankruptcy, insurance, or the safety and soundness aspects of banking regulation are not eligible, but works on subjects within these (or other) areas will be considered if they bear directly on U.S. consumer financial services law.

Application Deadline

The deadline for entry is November 1, 2023, and entries are eligible if they have been written or published within the twelve months preceding that date. 

Entry Submissions

Eligible entries may be submitted by authors directly or by third parties on behalf of authors. 

(If submitted by a third party on behalf of an author, the submitter must obtain author consent and provide author contact information.) 

Unpublished manuscripts should be double-spaced and conform to law review standards. All entries should be submitted in electronic format.

Entries for the 2024 competition should be submitted via email to:

Nessa E. Feddis, Esquire
Writing Competition Chair
American Bankers Association
Please email Nessa E Feddis and Jean Heckhaus

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: